Posted in Uncategorized

Controversial Art

I’m still working on the grant proposal. Now, I’m wondering about the wisdom, or stupidity, of submitting photos of controversial art along with non-controversial art in the digital portfolio.

DSCN7252DSCN7253DSCN7254

This is part of a self-portrait series. Yes, those are gunshot wounds. I meant to put the shots in non-lethal spots, but my knowledge of anatomy is limited and at least three of the five shots are kill shots. It’s called: Fuck You, I’m Still Alive. If I submit photos of this piece (photos will be done in a light box), I may change the name slightly. Or not. The piece accurately reflects how I felt when I made it.

DSCN1083DSCN1084

My Body Doesn’t Define Me.

People who have viewed this piece have told me that I’m sick, that the piece is disgusting, and a few more insults I have forgotten. Personally, I think this piece done as a king-size quilt would be …. something else.

Having spent 10 years representing children in court, I can say with authority that there are a whole lot of people who have no business having children and some people shouldn’t be allowed within 500′ of a child.

I chose not to have children. Because I didn’t want kids. Because I knew I’d be a terrible mother. Because I could not do to someone else what was done to me and I knew no other way.

DSCN1343DSCN1344

I Can’t Fake It Anymore

I made this piece at a time when I was under attack from insecure bullies, unmedicated, and undiagnosed. The week before I made this, I had done a sentencing for a client who had dodged the death penalty, but ended up sentenced to about 65 years. After the sentencing, we all gathered in the jury room. Just me, co-counsel, my client, the DA, a couple ADA’s the family of the woman my client murdered and a half dozen deputies. The purpose was for my client to apologize to the family. Questions were asked. Some answers given.  The family asked that the contents of the discussion remain private. I can say that these types of meetings are better held by people who know what they are doing than held by attorneys like me who are pulling it out of their asses as I was.

Would you put controversial art like this into a portfolio?

Author:

I retired from the Public Defender Dept. November 12, 2015 after 21+ years as a criminal defense attorney. Now, I'm a full time multi-media artist and writer starting on a new adventure. As an artist, I create with beads, fabric, fiber, and ceramic clay. Sometimes separately; sometimes in assorted combinations. You can find my on-line store at: www.debthumanart.com.