Posted in Uncategorized

Still Working on Photos

I started photography with the last fully manual camera Cannon made in 1980. I had control over everything. Now, I have a Cannon Rebel and it’s fully automatic. I’d like to have more control. I love not having to develop film. I love being able to take 500 photos and it doesn’t cost me any more than taking 1 photo.

IMG_1506

This was a great photo until I realized I cut off the side of the quilt. Good thing I’m not paying for film.

IMG_1510

The photo of the other quilt came out better. But….. I didn’t use the laser level and the edges are wonky. Somehow, I don’t think the reviewers will be impressed if I tell them the wonky edges are a design element. Actually… now that I write it, that’s not a bad idea. This quilt was inspired by a fossil. Fossils rarely are found on perfectly flat, nicely edged surfaces. I gotta think about that a little more.

IMG_1518

It’s possible to photograph a light colored box against a white background. This is a surprise. I thought the box would disappear into the background.  I see the glaze from the inside peeked out a tad. Adds to the mystery. I made this box several years ago, and it’s still one of my favorites. The galley sucks, though. It took me a few more years to figure out how to hand build a good galley.

IMG_1523

A friend suggested using three little pots in a photo rather than one little pot per photo. Yes, I need to get out the gorilla tripod. The full size tripod isn’t going to be helpful with this setup. I need to adjust the depth of field and that’s going to take a really slow shutter.

I worked on the writing part of the grant proposal today. I spent about 10 years as a reporter. I was working on the part where I have to justify and explain what I propose to do. I buried the lead. The second worst thing a reporter can do. The first worst thing is to reveal the name of a source who wants to remain anonymous.

This grant proposal is starting to be more taxing than taking another bar exam.

 

Author:

I retired from the Public Defender Dept. November 12, 2015 after 21+ years as a criminal defense attorney. Now, I'm a full time multi-media artist and writer starting on a new adventure. As an artist, I create with beads, fabric, fiber, and ceramic clay. Sometimes separately; sometimes in assorted combinations. You can find my on-line store at: www.debthumanart.com.