Posted in Uncategorized

It Is Finished

At least I hope it is finished.

PROPOSAL SUBMISSION CONFIRMATION

Proposal 7668798 has been successfully submitted to NSF

May 25 2016 2:16PM EDT

This proposal has now been assigned the following NSF Proposal Number:
1644697

Please make a note of this number, it is the official NSF proposal number.
Your Signature has been recorded

 

If I made any mistakes, I’ll get an e-mail saying my proposal wasn’t really submitted, I just thought it was. That happened last year and I discovered Fastlane has some of the very best tech support I’ve ever encountered.

This year, I found directions for how to prepare a grant proposal using Fastlane. That baby came in real handy. I also found instructions for preparing the proposal for the Artists & Writers Program. If I win, I get to go to Antarctica on the US government’s dime. This is only fair. The US government has commandeered many of my dimes.

Best of all, the deadline for submission isn’t until 5:00 PM June 1, 2016. I’m ahead of schedule. I don’t know, and won’t know for months, if my proposal is a winner. I do know it’s the best I could do right now. I also know that I’m going to keep applying for this grant until I get it.

I submitted most of the controversial art. I left out Fuck You I’m Still Alive – the female sculpture with the bullet holes. I wasn’t comfortable sending a photo of a piece with such a controversial (read dirty word) name and I wasn’t about to change the name. I was also told, by someone I respect, that the piece wasn’t up to my usual standard of work. The two quilts, I Can’t Fake It Anymore and My Body Doesn’t Define Me are in the portfolio.

I’ve learned more about taking decent photos while preparing this proposal. This will come in handy. I think. Hope.

Now, I can go back to being an artist and writer. I can work on the Antarctica quilt. I’ve been playing with the dyed socks to find the right combination of three socks for the building. I started out thinking of using a light, medium and dark value of one color. Now, I’m considering one light color, one medium of another color and one dark of yet another color. I need to figure out what size I want this quilt. The building will have windows and my dreams will be put on the windows. I need big enough windows for this and the buildings in Antarctica have small windows. Heat loss and stuff like that. Besides, how much cold glass do you want around when it’s dark outside for nearly 6 months?

I can play in the mud. I can work out how I want molds made for ceramic pieces. I can sew clothing for myself. I can stop obsessing.

To celebrate, I will now hang laundry on the line and fix myself some lunch.

Author:

I retired from the Public Defender Dept. November 12, 2015 after 21+ years as a criminal defense attorney. Now, I'm a full time multi-media artist and writer starting on a new adventure. As an artist, I create with beads, fabric, fiber, and ceramic clay. Sometimes separately; sometimes in assorted combinations. You can find my on-line store at: www.debthumanart.com.