Posted in Uncategorized

The World is my University

It amazes me that there is so much available on youtube. All you need is the ability to read, access to the internet, and you can learn pretty much anything.

I wanted to make a purse with zippered pockets. Just one tiny problem. You’d think after sewing for 52 years I’d know how to put in a zipper. Nope. Fortunately, there’s youtube. I found a video for inserting a recessed zipper in a tote bag. It’s not a purse, but it’s a start.

IMG_1670

The finished bag. I used some upholstery fabric that Jim got for me when he worked for Gunlocke in the 90’s. Employees could buy leftover upholstery fabric for $1 a yard. The lining is fabric left over from a baby quilt I made for a friend’s second child.

IMG_1671IMG_1672

The recessed zipper. It’s not an award winning insertion, but it’s the best insertion I’ve ever done.

IMG_1673IMG_1674

Both ends of the zipper. The beginning of the zipper is where I had to fix zipper.

I had bought a roll of zipper tape with a dozen sliders. Measure what you need, cut that amount of zipper, and insert the zipper. I did well until I zipped the zipper closed and pulled the slider right off the zipper. I had neglected to sew a stop onto the zipper.

Back to youtube where I discovered it’s pretty easy to reattach the slider.

Project #2 will be a tote with a recessed zipper, inside zipper pockets and an outside zipper pocket.

Project #3 will be design and make the purse that I want.

Here’s the recessed zipper video:  https://youtu.be/R-CHW9EEd3k?list=PLxvCOI29xcn64XGB_mb9YqVMHzxkB9TUT

Here’s the fix the zipper video:  https://youtu.be/MKiee5nZFlw

Author:

I retired from the Public Defender Dept. November 12, 2015 after 21+ years as a criminal defense attorney. Now, I'm a full time multi-media artist and writer starting on a new adventure. As an artist, I create with beads, fabric, fiber, and ceramic clay. Sometimes separately; sometimes in assorted combinations. You can find my on-line store at: www.debthumanart.com.