Posted in Uncategorized

While it was too hot to work outside…

It’s been getting to 100+ for the past week or so. When it’s 80 at 7:00 AM, it’s going to be too hot to work outside. The beauty of being a multi-media artist is that when it’s too hot for clay, it’s air conditioned cool in my sewing room .

I had wanted to make some pillowcases. The original plan was to have a pale green and a medium blue. I used Dharma Trading’s Procion dye Parakeet. If I put the dye bucket in the shade and it’s not too hot out, I get a pale green. If I put the dye bucket in the sun and it’s hot out (it was 104), I get blue. The pillowcases weren’t difficult to make – just time consuming. There are no pattern pieces, so I had to do quite a bit of measuring, ironing in the cutting line, then cutting on the fold. Here are the results.
IMG_2078IMG_2082IMG_2080IMG_2079

I tried out some new-to-me threads for the fancy stitching.

It was cloudy this morning, so I could do some experiments with under glazes. I like the idea of pointillism. I did three experiments: starting with a dark color and each following color is progressively lighter; starting with a light color and each following color is progressively darker; coating one of each with water to see if I can have softer dots. This is all greenware, so things will look different after being glaze fired. With the exception of the pinch pot, these pots are all part of my experiment using just one basic shape – slightly larger bottom, indented slightly in the middle, flared at the top.

IMG_2088IMG_2086

In each photo, the mug on the right was brushed with water.

I wanted to play with leaf designs so I made some templates. After finding a pencil that would draw on dry clay, I traced the templates and proceeded to turn them into leaves.

IMG_2101

I grabbed the wrong brush when I tried to make veins in the leaves. So I made weird, wide lines.

IMG_2106

I grabbed the right brush this time. I was playing with coloring the leaves in an unnatural color. Wonder what the world would look like with turquoise and purple leaves. I hope they look less like feathers after they are fired.

IMG_2091

I tried for a bit of realism with this one. Maybe I’ll like it better after it’s glaze fired. It’s greenware at the moment.

IMG_2109

An experimental pinch pot.

On my last trip to Albuquerque, I stopped at New Mexico Clay and bought some Velvet Underglazes. So far, I like these a whole lot better than the Liquid Under Glaze. The velvets seem to cover better, don’t get streaky, and come in really cool colors – some utterly brilliant.

Author:

I retired from the Public Defender Dept. November 12, 2015 after 21+ years as a criminal defense attorney. Now, I'm a full time multi-media artist and writer starting on a new adventure. As an artist, I create with beads, fabric, fiber, and ceramic clay. Sometimes separately; sometimes in assorted combinations. You can find my on-line store at: www.debthumanart.com.

One thought on “While it was too hot to work outside…

  1. I love the cool colors for the pillowcases. Your pottery keeps getting better and better. The pointelist mugs are stunning. Marge Bresel Omaha, NE

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

Comments are closed.