Posted in Uncategorized

Another Thing That’s Good About Being A Multi-Media Artist

When I get tired of one art toy, there’s always another art toy with which to play. A few weeks back, I bought a sewing pattern on sale. Time to sew the blouse. I used leftover natural linen/rayon blend and navy linen/rayon blend fabric. I’ve been sewing for more than 50 years so why do I need to look at the directions? Besides, the directions for this blouse were unnecessarily complicated. I could save myself a lot of hand sewing if I used my serger.

I sewed the neckpiece on backwards. I thought I was making a mistake, but kept on going. I used my serger, so ripping out the neckpiece was not easy. I had to cut a new neckpiece and facing. Because I was using leftover fabric, I didn’t have much fabric to spare. I was surprised I had enough bits of navy to make another neckpiece. What did I learn from this? Don’t throw out the fabric until after I complete sewing the garment. I also learned that I like the way linen/rayon fabric drapes.

IMG_2122

IMG_2124

There are mistakes in the blouse, but it fits well, is comfortable, and I’ll be using this pattern again.

Having had sewing problems, I switched back to clay.

For years, I’ve struggled to make decent lidded pots. I hand build, so the opening on the pot is never perfectly round. Lids only fit one way. It took forever before I could finally insert a proper galley on a lid. I finally gave up and tried a technique I read about somewhere. I rolled a slab, cut out a circle, and put the circle on the top of the pot. Then I rolled a golfball around the center of the circle. This requires gentle rolling. That gave me a depressed lid which fits in any direction. No more struggling to remember how the lid goes on the pot.

IMG_2125

IMG_2127

IMG_2129

IMG_2133

I like the texture.

While waiting for the clay circle to set up enough to manipulate, I made a few pinch pots.

IMG_2146

IMG_2143

IMG_2142

I like how the finger prints show up, so  I don’t try to smooth them out. I’m going to have to think about how to glaze these pots so the fingerprints are still visible after glazing.

IMG_2140

IMG_2138

IMG_2137

Although I haven’t decided how I’m going to glaze these, I usually put one glaze on the outside of the pot and two different glazes on the inside. I put the second inside glaze on heavily around the top of the pot with the hope that the second glaze will flow down the inside of the pot. Sometimes, it works.

Want to know what a few other artists are doing? Click here.

 

Author:

I retired from the Public Defender Dept. November 12, 2015 after 21+ years as a criminal defense attorney. Now, I'm a full time multi-media artist and writer starting on a new adventure. As an artist, I create with beads, fabric, fiber, and ceramic clay. Sometimes separately; sometimes in assorted combinations. You can find my on-line store at: www.debthumanart.com.

One thought on “Another Thing That’s Good About Being A Multi-Media Artist

  1. I didn’t know you have a blog. I’m enjoying catching up. Facebook is fine, but a blog allows more detail and feels more personal!
    I like the blouse. Good colors and fabric.

    Like

Comments are closed.