Posted in Uncategorized

Crochet & Photography

I found a pattern for a crocheted runner for a small table. Thinking it would be a pretty tablecloth, I made row after row after row of pineapples. Then I crocheted the rows together. I forgot when I started this and have no idea how long it took me to make.

Yes, I should have blocked it before putting it on the table that Jim made. I just didn’t feel like it. I’m considering making a crocheted bedspread, but I’m going to hold off until I come to my senses.

It’s too cold today to work outside with clay, so I’m inside, writing and sometimes outside and taking photographs. I get an e-mail each week from Digital Photography School Click Here and I’ve been playing around with shadows, back lighting, and learning more about what the Canon Rebel T3i will do. It does a whole lot – and I’m still learning.

img_2954

Looking east. With all the rain we’ve had, the trees are full of leaves and grass is growing. Fuzzy back lit.

img_2963

It rained this morning which left clouds on the mountains and opportunities to take back lit photos. Looking north at the Dona Ana Mountains.

img_2973

While I was taking photos, the sky began to clear. Looking West at the Robledo Mountains.

img_2984

Still looking north, but after the sky cleared. We’ve had some rain the last couple weeks, and the desert is green. Normally, that view is brown with a few green dots here and there. It’s not often that the mountains are green.

img_2938

Looking northwest at the very green desert.

img_2995

One of the huge agaves we have in the back year. The bottoms of the leaves are smooth and the patterns are an illusion. img_2993

This is a cholla (choy-ah) in our backyard. Those light green things are where the flowers were.

Author:

I retired from the Public Defender Dept. November 12, 2015 after 21+ years as a criminal defense attorney. Now, I'm a full time multi-media artist and writer starting on a new adventure. As an artist, I create with beads, fabric, fiber, and ceramic clay. Sometimes separately; sometimes in assorted combinations. You can find my on-line store at: www.debthumanart.com.

One thought on “Crochet & Photography

  1. Deb -Your tablecloth is beautiful! I’m torn between sending you congratulations and get-well wishes. It occurs to me that a way to profit from your craziness might be to go into very high-end crochet clothing that references all those crumpled tops or the early Miyaki styles. I remember glorious jackets and skirts in my mother’s generation, but they were all done to resemble flat goods…did nothing to utilize the not-flat things crochet can do. And nowadays there are yarns that are nearly weightless. ‘m only mentioning all this because I want you to have a way for the best care in the asylum.

    Best regards. Glad to see you’re still truckin’ and in a gorgeous place.

    Like

Comments are closed.