Posted in Uncategorized

Turning The Tumbnail Quilt Into A Final Quilt

img_5348

This is the thumbnail quilt with which I started. My idea was to portray what bipolar disorder feels like. The ups. The downs. The mixed episodes – where there’s both manic and depressive. Feeling fine and snarling at Jim. It’s quite the adventure.

I’ve started on the next/final version of the quilt. I basted 2″ from each edge so I’d be sure to have enough fabric to frame the design and still be able to attach binding. Then, I redid my sketches of gingko leaves in an effort to come up with something a bit more realistic. I’m not there yet, but I’m closer than I was with the thumbnail quilt.

I cut out leaves, placed them on the fabric, and used embroidery floss to appliqué the leaves onto the fabric. I used beads and embroidery floss in an attempt to show a different aspect of bipolar disorder in each leaf. I’m not done yet, but here’s what I have so far.

Version 2

I hung the unfinished quilt top on the clothes line in order to take photos.

Individual leaves that have been embellished:

Version 2Version 2Version 2Version 2img_5598img_5593Version 2Version 2Version 2img_5611img_5610

I leave it to you to decide what emotions and moods are portrayed in each leaf.

I’m linking with Nina Marie here. Take a look at what some talented artists have been up to.

Author:

I retired from the Public Defender Dept. November 12, 2015 after 21+ years as a criminal defense attorney. Now, I'm a full time multi-media artist and writer starting on a new adventure. As an artist, I create with beads, fabric, fiber, and ceramic clay. Sometimes separately; sometimes in assorted combinations. You can find my on-line store at: www.debthumanart.com.

2 thoughts on “Turning The Tumbnail Quilt Into A Final Quilt

  1. I love the idea of describing your bi polar feelings and actions thru a quilt. The one that stands out is the one with a lot of beads and ” stuff” going every which way in a random fashion. Then the ones with a more mellow flow with order and purpose. Fascinating .

    Like

Comments are closed.