Posted in words

The Power of One

One.

I am a multi-media artist – both visual and written media. Today’s post doesn’t have photos. It’s not about fabric or beads or ceramics. It’s about words. It’s about life. It’s about One.

The Talmud tells us: Whoever saves a life, it is as if he saved the entire world. Whoever takes a life, it is as if he took the entire world.

One.

I am sad today. I am angry. I am frustrated. I am reminded of so many things. I am not going to be quiet.

One.

Yesterday, I listened to Michael Moore as he spoke at a rally in New York City. He said that if American Muslims are required to be registered, Michael Moore will sign his name on that registry. So will I. I will sign my name in English and in Hebrew. I will sign my name so that no one will think I agree to allow a narcissistic bully to turn my country into Nazi Germany. When I’m frustrated, I will remind myself of those who saved a life during a hideously dark time when saving a life meant risking one’s own life. They saved a life by not asking too many questions about the person sleeping in the barn. By not asking too many questions about the person gathering the crops. By sharing a bit of food. By offering a lie to give a Jew time to hide. All small acts. All having profound results.

One.

I am bipolar. I will not be quiet. I will lead this parade of One when I’m encouraged and when I’m frustrated. I will not allow anyone to think that I will stand quiet while people with mental illnesses are castigated, hounded, shunned, discriminated against, or shoved into a closet. When I’m frustrated, I’ll remind myself of the look in a client’s eyes when I told him I’m bipolar and still achieved my goals and dreams. I’ll remind myself of the look in a client’s eyes when I told her that looking at the ugly memory, acknowledging it was an ugly event helped ease my PTSD. I will remind myself of the friend who told me that because I spoke out, she now had the courage to seek help.  I will remind myself that if I want mental illness viewed without any stigma, without any shame, that attitude has to start with me.

One.

I will not buy any product that puts money in Donald Trump’s pocket. Maybe that means not buying one bracelet. Just one. We are all one. Just one. We each make a difference. The tiniest difference, made thousands of times, is powerful.

One.

Yesterday, I wrote a story for my writing class. For me, this story was risky. I am trusting that my reader will see what my reader needs to see in this story. It’s a story about my great-great-grandparents, along with my 10-month-old great-grandmother boarded a ship, spent 8 days in the belly of the ship, paid roughly 3 months’ wages for their passage, to escape to religious freedom. It’s about how two words allowed me to see that my grandmother’s horrible German was really Yiddish and we were really Jewish. It’s about my doing things my great-great-grandparents hardly dared to dream were possible. Thirteen people will read that story. Perhaps each will see something different in the story. When I wrote about the study quilt for a Tree of Life quilt, I asked readers what they saw in the study quilt. I got all sorts of answers. Each was different from what I wanted to say. I was frustrated until I realized that each interpretation was valid. Each was meaningful to the viewer. Writing my assigned story taught me that it doesn’t matter what insight the viewer/reader has. Each insight is valid. Each insight has value. Perhaps the entire purpose of art, both verbal and visual, is for each person to glean something of value to herself.

One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One. One.

One. The most powerful number of all.

I’m linking with Nina Marie. Click here to see what some great artists have been making this week.

 

 

Author:

I retired from the Public Defender Dept. November 12, 2015 after 21+ years as a criminal defense attorney. Now, I'm a full time multi-media artist and writer starting on a new adventure. As an artist, I create with beads, fabric, fiber, and ceramic clay. Sometimes separately; sometimes in assorted combinations. You can find my on-line store at: www.debthumanart.com.

6 thoughts on “The Power of One

  1. I do not read mysteries but of course I am aware of writers.(I read on line and the N Ytimes
    book reviews and some may be of Stephen King’s books His comment about what is going on:
    AGE OF DOOM!!
    I love it.!!
    roslyn

    Like

  2. I hear you, Deborah. I am very afraid of our new president and I am surprised that more people have not compared home to Hilter. Good for you for being at the rally in Washington.

    Like

  3. Get over it. The nation has spoken and we need to give our new president a chance! To keep comparing him to Hitler is obsured and
    Disgusting!! I had family members who were murdered by Hitlers hand.
    I truly believe this President will do good things to improve everyon’s future.

    Like

  4. Very good post and just what I needed to read on this depressing day. I am really scared for our planet. I think the planet now in big trouble. I love the big oil guys in his cabinet that want to make tons of money for their kids and grandkids to inherit. Trouble is they are destroying the planet and making it unlivable for them. Money won’t mean anything. Will be at the rally/protest in D.C. tomorrow.

    Like

Comments are closed.