Posted in Jewelry, Photography

Trying to Stay Sane

This inauguration has caused me serious misery. I went to the Women’s March in Las Cruces, but details and photos from that event will be in another post. I need to put some space between me and what’s happening in Washington.  I’m having stress pains. Pain in a perfectly healthy tooth. Pain in a perfectly healthy chest. I’ve been to dentists and cardiologists. They can’t find anything wrong. I’m taking my anti anxiety med regularly as prescribed. I had been taking it only as I needed it. I’m worried about becoming addicted to my anti anxiety med and it’s easy to build up a tolerance to this med. I’m now taking the full dose of my antidepressant. I had been taking only half. When I’m able to go back down to the half dose – and that’s what I’ve been taking successfully for two years – I’m going to have to cut pills into small pieces to avoid as much of the withdrawal as possible.

Art helps. A lot. I’ve been working with beads.

purple-earringspink-heart-earringspink-green-earringsblue-heart-earringsblue-earringsthree-strand-necklace

A friend kindly gave me a gray scale to use for a background when I photograph my art. I’m so thankful for her gift. I belong to the Digital Photography School Facebook page and I’ve been getting wonderful advice. I need to retake the above photos, set my ISO for 100, turn off the image stabilizer because I’ll be using a tripod, and try again.

I took the Canon to school with me and looked around for different kinds of subject matter for shots.

I looked around for anything that looked interesting or that I thought I could play with.

tree-08-liquifytree-08-liquify-edgeliquified-treeliquid-linestiny-planet-shadowsshadows-a02-a09-005

That was so much fun that I decided to play with the jewelry.

three-strand-necklace-twirl-ccw-forard-arppurple-earrings-twirlpink-green-earrings-twirlblue-heart-earrings-warp-twistblue-earrings-play-with-twirls

I’d love to figure out how to make my jewelry look so swirly. Guess I’ll just have to spend more time playing with beads.

I’m linking with NinaMarie. To see her blog and links to other fantastic blogs, click here.

Author:

I retired from the Public Defender Dept. November 12, 2015 after 21+ years as a criminal defense attorney. Now, I'm a full time multi-media artist and writer starting on a new adventure. As an artist, I create with beads, fabric, fiber, and ceramic clay. Sometimes separately; sometimes in assorted combinations. You can find my on-line store at: www.debthumanart.com.

4 thoughts on “Trying to Stay Sane

  1. I love the swirly jewelry. The grey cloth makes a big difference in your photos.
    Staying sane is hard right now what with the current occupants of the white house acting like dictators not elected official so be nice to yourself. It’s one thing to be anxious for no reason but that’s not the situation, being anxious now is the right response
    I wanted to go to the marches but my nervous system overloads with that kind of stimulus, good or bad, so I was forced to stay home living vicariously through the marchers. I’m glad you got to go, it must have been wonderful to be part of the crowd.

    Like

  2. The work is lovely. The stress over the inaugeration, I do not understand. We no longer have a madman in the White House who is letting terrorists OUT of prison. My concern has markedly decreased.

    Like

Comments are closed.