Posted in Beads, Clay, Fiber, Jewelry, Photography

Feeling Calmer This Week

My chiropractor warned me this would happen. He told me about golfing with a friend who is retired. He asked his friend what time it was. The friend not only didn’t know what time it was, he didn’t know what day it was.

I didn’t know today is Saturday.

Some of this might be from being able to do the things I want or need to do when I want or need to do them. Some might be side effects of medication. Taking a muscle relaxer and pain pill makes sleeping easy. Taking a muscle relaxer and pain pill makes thinking difficult.

I feel more calm this week and this calm has a solid feel to it. I think, but can’t promise, that I’m back to normal for me.

I’m still working on texture tools for clay. This week’s project is a larger than usual piece of Tunisian Crochet. I want something large enough to texture an entire plate or platter. It’s almost warm enough to move the clay back onto the Summer Studio conveniently located on the back patio. We’re having patches of 70’s warm alternating with patches of 60’s WIND. Cold, wind, and wet hands aren’t a good combination.

IMG_6793IMG_6794

The wood you see in the background is the top of a coffee table Jim made in the late 90’s.

The more I think about using this texture, the more projects I want to make. This could be a great box or vase. I want to try slab built mugs using the texture pieces I’ve made. Mostly, I want to play in the mud again. Soon. I hope.

I’ve been working on my photography more. The claret cup cactus in front of the house is blooming. I realized this morning that the light was perfect for shooting the cactus. Fortunately, I live at the top of a hill on a dead end street. Clad in my PJs, robe and slippers, I grabbed the Canon, lay down on the flagstone walkway, and took photos. It’s amazing how cold the flagstones are. These images are straight out of the camera. I shoot in RAW so I can edit better. No need for that this time.

IMG_6790IMG_6789

These two above were done with the macro feature. One of these days, I will treat myself to a macro lens. The macro lens is on the list with a new light box and a slab roller.

IMG_6788

Above, using aperture priority, f/18. In this shot, that setting works.

IMG_6787

That setting, f/18, is way too small an aperture for this shot. If I’d used a larger aperture, the house and the ugly shadows would have been blurred. By the time I got the shots downloaded, it was too late to go back out for more shots. The light had changed for the worse. I’ll try again later.

It’s tough to photograph a cat who refuses to pose. Here’s the best out of the lot.

IMG_6797

She’s a bit blurry because she moved faster than I could focus. Eventually, I’ll manage to get a decent shot of Cohen.

I made myself a pair of earrings using a new color Swarovski has. It’s called Cantaloupe and it changes colors depending on the light source. In natural light, the beads are a pale cantaloupe color. With fluorescent or tungsten, the beads are either a pale purple or a pale green. I forgot which color went with which light source. I’ve ordered more of these beads and I’ll be making earrings to sell using these magic beads.

Cantelope 3-9-17

I’m hoping to get some earrings into my etsy shop this weekend. I need Jim to take photos of each earring on my ear. This should be interesting. He’s a point and shoot kind of guy and I’m a play around with settings kind of woman.

I’m linking with Nina Marie here. Check out what some terrific artists have been doing this past week.

Author:

I retired from the Public Defender Dept. November 12, 2015 after 21+ years as a criminal defense attorney. Now, I'm a full time multi-media artist and writer starting on a new adventure. As an artist, I create with beads, fabric, fiber, and ceramic clay. Sometimes separately; sometimes in assorted combinations. You can find my on-line store at: www.debthumanart.com.