Posted in Beads, Fiber, Photography

Sometimes it goes right, sometimes it goes wrong

I’ve got an idea for an art quilt floating about in my head. In order to map out the idea, I need to get the perspective right. To that end, I put the telephoto lens on the Canon and went for a walk. I did get several helpful photos. While I was shooting, I took some shots that I could play with.

Yucca 2 3-30-17

Shadows 1 3-30-27 grunge x 3

Shadow 4 3-30-17

Shadow 3 3-30-17 vintage grunge

Shadow 2 3-30-17 adj

Power pole 3-30-27 played with

 

Grass 1 3-30-17

The NMSU Art Gallery has an exhibit of photography by a photographer whose name I promptly forgot. The exhibit was equally forgettable. I was hoping to be able to study some of the photographs and pick out what was good about the shot and how I could apply that to my photography. I did learn a few things, but not what I expected.

I learned:

      1. Bad shots taken by a brand name photographer aren’t any better than my bad shots. Crap is crap.
      2. It’s not necessary to put the subject in the center of every photograph.
      3. If there was a reason why about a dozen photos contained every person, pet, graffiti, building, power line, and anything else that was nearby into the photos, I haven’t been able to figure it out.
      4. Whoever curated this exhibit didn’t know very much about photography.

I found a free crochet pattern for a cat bed. I thought it would be nice to make such a cat bed. I grabbed my Jo-Ann’s coupons and headed for the yarn aisle. I spent at least a half hour picking out yarn. The cats like green. They refuse to even get in the cat bed. Yes, I did know this was going to happen before I started the project.

IMG_7412

I’ve gotten more beads and I’ve been working with them. Alas, I’ve been managing to make lots of ugly earrings and an ugly bracelet. I’ve been cutting apart quite a few pieces. Eventually, I’m going to know how to use two hole beads.

I’ve been looking at Art Deco jewelry online in google images to get some ideas for designs. Useful, but I’m not sure how I’m going to translate diamond jewelry into seed beads.

If you’re keeping track of the agave bloom, the stalk is now about eight feet tall.

I’m linking with Nina Marie. To see what Nina Marie and other artists have been working on, click here.

Author:

I retired from the Public Defender Dept. November 12, 2015 after 21+ years as a criminal defense attorney. Now, I'm a full time multi-media artist and writer starting on a new adventure. As an artist, I create with beads, fabric, fiber, and ceramic clay. Sometimes separately; sometimes in assorted combinations. You can find my on-line store at: www.debthumanart.com.

One thought on “Sometimes it goes right, sometimes it goes wrong

Comments are closed.