Posted in Emotions, Photography

Art: The Antidote to Misery

The Great Laundry Event has passed. I discovered I’m allergic to the laundry detergent I’ve been using. I bought some detergent that has very little added and then washed all the bedding, all the towels, and all my clothes. I stopped counting loads at 12.

We’re still using the guest bathroom because there’s still no hot water for the master bathroom. The part finally arrived and Jim will call the plumber on Monday to see when we can get the water heater fixed.

Because of recent events in Congress, events that will cause me to be uninsurable at which time I won’t be able to afford medication that keeps me alive, I’ve needed to find refuge in art.

I’ve been doing a bit of work on the novel which is now starting to sound like a novel. As opposed to sounding like me. Sigh. I’m not so sure sounding like a novel is wonderful although it will help to get my book published when I finally finish it. I do find it interesting that when I listen to network news commentary on officer involved shootings, the commentator clearly has done no research. This is disturbing.

I’ve been working on photography the past few days and I’ve decided to concentrate on the photos that most other people don’t take.

Yucca 2 vignette

Lots of people take photos of blooming yucca; the one above is a soap yucca – New Mexico’s state flower. Not that many take photos of the seed pods that develop after pollination and the dead stalk after the pods have spread their seeds.

Yucca 8 5-5-17 use this oneYucca 6 5-5-17

Yucca pod 1 5-5-17

 

I played with the photos of the pods.

Yucca 6 5-5-17 edge, grunge 3Yucca 6 5-5-17 edge, grunge 3 fbric

The base of the yucca is interesting so I took a shot and played. The original shot is the last one in the series.

Yucca 2 5-5-17 colored pencil, grunge 2 HDRYucca 3 5-5-17 negYucca 3 5-5-17 neg grunge 2Yucca 2 5-5-17

There’s a huge agave in my back yard, so I took odd photographs and played with the results.

Big agave 4 5-5-17
Original photo of a deal leaf from the large agave.

And what happened when I started playing.

Big agave 4 5-5-17 negBig agave 4 5-5-17 neg grunge fabric use this one

Big Agave 2 5-5-17
Original photo of the base of the large agave.

And what happened when I started playing.

Big agave 3 5-5-17 neg vintage grungeBig Agave 2 5-5-17 neg grunge 2

Big Agave 1 5-5-17
The large agave.

Big Agave 1 5-5-17neg grunge

The played with agave.

I’m linking with Nina Marie here. Check out what other artists have been doing the past week.

Author:

I retired from the Public Defender Dept. November 12, 2015 after 21+ years as a criminal defense attorney. Now, I'm a full time multi-media artist and writer starting on a new adventure. As an artist, I create with beads, fabric, fiber, and ceramic clay. Sometimes separately; sometimes in assorted combinations. You can find my on-line store at: www.debthumanart.com.

2 thoughts on “Art: The Antidote to Misery

  1. I love what you are doing with these photographs (stunning on their own). What filter are you using in Photoshop?

    Like

Comments are closed.