Posted in Beads, Photography

Ups. Downs. Sideways.

My website store at Deb Thuman Art has had it’s first sale. Thanks Delores!!! I’m still working on the learning curve for the store, but the order is in the mail and on it’s way to Delores. And I discovered I can text the tracking number to 28777 and get text updates on where the package is.

I’ve been working on bracelets and earrings. I’ll be taking good photos in the next few days but here’s some quick shots.

This is my first time working with memory wire, and I really like it. I played around with semi-precious gems, glass beads and copper beads.

Glass Cube bracelet

Glass and aluminum beads.

Copper & Glass bead bracelet

Glass and copper beads.

Amathyst & Rhodochrosite bracelet

Amethyst and rhodochrosite.

Pyramid bracelet

I wanted to try these pyramid beads. They’re a bit pricey, but fun.

Triangle Bead Bracelet

And I wanted to try using triangle shaped beads. There’s some with the pyramid beads, and here’s one just triangles.

I bought more glass beads.

Black Bead earrings

I bought some Swarovsky crystals in shapes I hadn’t seen before and in colors I haven’t used before.

Wild Heart EarringsTriangle Earrings

I’ll be taking the jewelry to the Farmers & Craft Market in Las Cruces on July 8. Whatever doesn’t sell there will go into my website store. If you’re interested in any of the pieces, please email me at debthuman@zianet.com.

I’m still working on learning Affinity. I had used PhotoScape X so often that I was almost automatically picking ways to edit photos. Last night, I took some moon shots and did a bit of playing.

Blue Moon 6-29-17Bubble moon 6-29-17Moon 6-29-17 blinds

I love taking sunset photos. In the desert, sunset can be quite subtle. Below is sunset behind Mexican bird of paradise bushes. The pea pod like things are seed pods. They pods split open making a sharp, cracking sound and the seeds fly off in all directions.

Evening 6-25-17

I noticed the sunset was reflected in a window one evening, and I’ve been working on getting a decent reflected sunset shot. I’m not thrilled with the one below. Even though it’s an improvement over my earlier attempts, this one is too grainy for my taste. I also don’t like the angle of the window. I needed to be shooting straight on and I must have been at a slight angle.

Sunset reflections 6:17

I looked out one evening and saw something I’d never seen before, sunset color in the north. The shot below is facing due north.

Northern sunset 6-19-17

I’ll be firing the kiln tomorrow. In this load will be the planter and planter stand, two bird baths and stands, four lanterns, a few rattle rocks and a few soap dishes. I’m looking forward to glazing using some new-to-me glazes.

I’m linking with Nina Marie here. Stop by and see what other artists have been doing this week.

Author:

I retired from the Public Defender Dept. November 12, 2015 after 21+ years as a criminal defense attorney. Now, I'm a full time multi-media artist and writer starting on a new adventure. As an artist, I create with beads, fabric, fiber, and ceramic clay. Sometimes separately; sometimes in assorted combinations. You can find my on-line store at: www.debthumanart.com.

Leave a Reply

